Happy New Year’s Eve

by okayart

IMG_6397

Kid art, circa 1994

Happy New Year’s Eve! In an effort not to take myself too seriously, but still with the impulse to look back over the years and evaluate the past in order to make resolutions for the future (as they say you should on days like this), here I am posting some art from way back.

I’ve always liked kid art, anyway, in all of it’s logic that doesn’t make sense, but does still manage to be highly entertaining. In case you were wondering, this is a portrait of “Chickie,” my longtime companion who was not much more than a bright (later, dirty) yellow bubble with a face and a bell inside. Chickie is long gone now… I lost her somewhere along the way. I like to thing that she is lounging on a warm beach, with a margarita in one wing. It’s what she would have wanted.

Best wishes for a the new year, everyone! For those of you who are artists, keep Picasso’s words of wisdom in mind: “Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.”

