Antarctica

by okayart

img_6937

Olivia J. Kiers. “Antarctica.” 2017. Linoleum block print.

During a lull at work today, I was browsing images of Antarctica because it came up in a recent phone call with my mother while we were discussing the thrilling topic of notable latitudes and their placement. Antarctica is the continent I always forget. It really shouldn’t be, however, because it’s gorgeous. So here are some ice cliffs plunging into the water.

I wanted to have a sky with hundreds of tiny stars. There’s hardly any artificial light at night down there, so the lack of sky glow (that purplish look to the night sky you get in cities and large towns that drowns out starlight) would mean that an incredible number of stars should be visible. You might even be able distinguish the different colors of the stars, which most people can’t do today because of too much artificial light interference blotting out the night sky’s finer details. Alas, carving all those little specks quickly grew tiresome, so I called it quits after just a few. Perhaps I’ll do another, larger version of this in the future, taking some extra carving sessions to do loads of stars. This one was just an idea in my head that I wanted to get onto paper quickly.

By the way, if you are interested about truly dark skies versus sky glow skies, the International Dark-Sky Association has some great info (and pretty pictures).

